Boston Redsox Fever at MLB.com Shop









BuyDVD.com - Online anime superstore!


Eric Millikin and Casey Sorrow's Fetus-X





Return to the Continuum home page

Clicking on images provides larger ones.

Friday, April 30, 2004

WONDERCON COVERAGE

The Continuum is in San Francisco to cover WonderCon. Look for bonus reports all weekend here.

SMALLVILLE UPDATE

The WB has released another new image from "Covenant," the season finale of Smallville set to air on Wednesday, May 19.

Here's how the network describes the episode:

"Things come to a head in Smallville when Kara, a beautiful girl (guest star Adrianne Palicki) with superpowers, who claims to be from Krypton, comes to entice Clark (Tom Welling) to fulfill his destiny. Overwhelmed, Clark turns to his parents (John Schneider, Annette O'Toole) for advice but is shocked when Kara forces Jonathan to finally reveal the deal he made with Jor-El. Also, Clark makes a discovery that ultimately redefines his relationship with Lex (Michael Rosenbaum), and Clark's relationship with Lana (Kristin Kreuk) takes a final turn."

Below are images from The WB's preview of "Talisman," next Wednesday's episode of Smallville. Click on the thumbnails for larger images.





DARK HORSE COMICS FIRST LOOKS

For covers and four-page previews of Dark Horse Comics titles arriving in stores on Wednesday, CLICK HERE.

Titles include Van Helsing, SpyBoy: Final Exam #1, Oh My Goddess! #108 and B.P.R.D.: A Plague of Frogs #3.



NORMALMAN SPECIAL

Image Comics on July 14 will release the normalman Twentieth Anniversary Special by Jim Valentino.

Here's how Image describes the book:

"Two decades ago, Valentino first brought us the tale of an everyman named norm, who, much to his chagrin, found himself stuck on a planet where everyone had super-powers EXCEPT him.  By examining the overblown world of super-heroes through the eyes of an 'almost' normal person, normalman took jabs at the history of comics and it's various clichés. Parodying everything from the Silver-Age Superman to Cerebus and American Flagg! After a decade away, normalman returns with a renewed vengeance."

"Originally normalman was a soft parody of the comics I grew up with," Valentino said. "But, somehow or another, after years spent in the trenches of the business it's wound up being more cynical in nature, more of a satire. The way I see it, it's cheaper than therapy."

Normalman first debuted in the pages of Dave Sim's Cerebus, before graduating to his own full color title. The book ran for a dozen issues (plus a 3D Annual) before Valentino turned his full attention to more mainstream fare, eventually going on to co-found Image Comics. 

This time around normalman will take dead aim at the entire industry, in "Captain Everything -- Superstar."  Longtime fans will recall Captain Everything as the omnipotent but astoundingly dense hero of the planet Levram, and best friend of normalman.

The normalman Twentieth Anniversary Special will also include the first-ever reprinting of "normalman Goes Hollywood" from Epic Lite #1, and a fully annotated retrospective of the entire normalman canon.

Click on the thumbnails above for larger images.



TEEN TITANS UPDATE

Cartoon Network has released its schedule of Teen Titans episode for June.

Following is a rundown:

"Final Exam" at 6:30 p.m. and "Forces of Nature" at 10 p.m. on Monday, May 31; "The Sum of His Parts" at 6:30 p.m. and "Nevermore" at 10 p.m. on Tuesday, June 1; "Switched" at 6:30 p.m. and "Deep Six" at 10 p.m. on Wednesday, June 2; "Mask" at 6:30 p.m. and "Mad Mod" at 10 p.m. on Thursday, June 3; "Car Trouble" at 6:30 p.m. on Friday, June 4; "Apprentice, Pt. 1" at noon on Saturday, June 5.

"Apprentice, Pt. 1" at 6:30 p.m. and "How Long is Forever?" at 10 p.m. on Monday, June 7; "Apprentice, Pt. 2" at 6:30 p.m. and "Every Dog Has His Day" at 10 p.m. on Tuesday, June 8; "How Long is Forever?" at 6:30 p.m. and "Terra" at 10 p.m. on Wednesday, June 9; "Every Dog Has His Day" at 6:30 p.m. and "Only Human" at 10 p.m. on Thursday, June 10; "Terra" at 6:30 p.m. on Friday, June 11; "Apprentice, Pt. 2" at noon on Saturday, June 12.

"Only Human" at 6:30 p.m. and "Fear Itself" at 10 p.m. on Monday, June 14; "Far Itself" at 6:30 p.m. and "Date with Destiny" on Tuesday, June 15; "Date with Destiny" at 6:30 p.m. and "Transformation" at 10 p.m. on Wednesday, June 16; "Transformation" at 6:30 p.m. and "Teen Rising" at 10 p.m. on Thursday, June 17; "Teen Rising" at 6:30 p.m. on Friday, June 18; "How Long is Forever?" at noon on Saturday, June 19; "Divide and Conquer" at 4:30 p.m. on Sunday, June 20.

"Winner Take All" at 6:30 p.m. and 10 p.m. on Monday, June 21; "How Long is Forever?" at 6:30 p.m. and "Divide and Conquer" at 10 p.m. on Tuesday, June 22; "Every Dog Has His Day" at 6:30 p.m. and "Sisters" at 10 p.m. on Wednesday, June 23; "Terra" at 6:30 p.m. and "Final Exam" at 10 p.m. on Thursday, June 24; "Only Human" on Friday, June 25; "Every Dog Has His Day" at noon on Saturday, June 26; "Sisters" at 4:30 p.m. on Sunday, June 27.

"Fear Itself" at 6:30 p.m. and "Forces of Nature" at 10 p.m. on Monday, June 28; "Date with Destiny" at 6:30 p.m. and "The Sum of His Parts" at 10 p.m. on Tuesday, June 29; "Transformation" at 6:30 p.m. and "Nevermoe" at 10 p.m. on Wednesday, June 30.



Fun and Sexy Boxers


WANTED #3 GOES BACK TO PRESS

Diamond Comics Distributors has reported that Top Cow and Image Comics' Wanted #3 has completely sold out of its print run through the distributor. Top Cow has decided to print a "Death Row" edition of #3, featuring a "blood-enhanced" JG Jones cover.

The new printing will feature the entire story of Wanted #3 and include several new bonus pages of material showing extras such as annotated script pages, sketches, and more.

"It's gratifying beyond gratifying to see this continue to happen. I love the fact that readers seem to be enjoying the book, and the Scotsman in me is devilishly happy at the chance to make extra money on the reprints!" said writer Mark Millar.

"We have the finest creative team in comics on Wanted, and they deserve every bit of success they're enjoying," said Top Cow editor-in-chief Jim McLauchlin. "The crazy part is, the book just keeps getting better. Wanted #4 is even more delicious than #3."

Meanwhile, Wanted #1 Death Row edition still continues to move through Diamond. "Even though we solicited this version after the 1st prints sold out, and sold through a lot of copies, we got an enormous response to soliciting it again through last month's Previews," said Joel Elad, Top Cow director of marketing and sales. "With news of the film deal and great word-of-mouth, more and more people want to check out Wanted for themselves."

BRIEFLY

  • Axion Comics has provided The Continuum with a first look at the covers to Gun Fu: The Lost City #3, due in stores in July. The issue is written and inked by Howard M. Shum and pencilled and colored by Joey Mason.

    Here's how the issue is described:

    "Cheng Bo Sen, Dr. Dumple, and Adrima (Jaguar Girl) encounter the deadly Nazi monkey-spider hybrids as they race to stop the Nazis from getting to the lost Inca city."

  • Coming Saturday: WonderCon news -- and much more!!!

    Hot Topic! Click here!


    COMICS CONTINUUM BACK ISSUES

    In case you missed The Continuum's recent coverage, here are some links:

    * For Friday, April 23, including Marvel news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Thursday, April 22, including Image Comics' solicitations for July, CLICK HERE.

    * For Wednesday, April 21, including DC Comics first looks, CLICK HERE.

    * For Tuesday, April 20, including Marvel Comics' solicitations for July, CLICK HERE.

    * For Monday, April 19, including TV news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Saturday, April 17, including TV news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Friday, April 16, including TV news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Thursday, April 15, including Marvel Comics news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Wednesday, April 14, including DC Comics news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Tuesday, April 13, including Teen Titans animated news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Monday, April 12, including DC Comics' solicitations for July, CLICK HERE.

    * For Saturday, April 10, including X-Men movie news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Friday, April 9, including Dark Horse solicitations for July, CLICK HERE.

    * For Thursday, April 8, including Image news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Wednesday, April 7, including Smallville news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Tuesday, April 6, including The Punisher movie news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Monday, April 5, including Justice League animated news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Saturday, April 3, including Spider-Man 2 and Hellboy movie news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Friday, April 2, including Hellboy movie news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Thursday, April 1, including Devil's Due news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Wednesday, March 31, including Wonder Woman DVD news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Tuesday, March 30, including The Batman animated news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Monday, March 29, including Punisher movie news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Saturday, March 27, including Elektra, Hellboy and Punisher movie news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Friday, March 26, including Justice League Unlimited news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Thursday, March 25, including Marvel news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Wednesday, March 24, including DC first looks and Hellboy movie news, CLICK HERE.

    * For Tuesday, March 23, including an interview with John Singleton, director of the Cage movie, CLICK HERE.

    * For Monday, March 22, including coverage of Spider-Man 2 and Punisher panels at Wizard World Los Angeles, CLICK HERE.

    Visit T-Shirt King!

    E-mail the Continuum at RobAlls@aol.com



    Return to the Continuum home page


    Copyright © 2004, The Comics Continuum