Eric Millikin and Casey Sorrow's Fetus-X

Stylin Online - T-Shirts

Return to the Continuum home page

Clicking on images provides larger ones.
Adult Swim T-Shirts


Neil Gaiman said the Stardust movie -- based on the comic by him and Charles Vess -- went through necessary changes for translation.

"There is stuff that is going to surprise you," Gaiman said. "There is stuff that we simply couldn't do in the way we did it in the book. If we did it the way we did it in the book, the hero would not be born until you're a half an hour into the film. This would be a problem.

"I don't know if we've really taken liberties. What we've tried to do is translate things in a book, that work in a book, into a way that's more filmic. It's probably about 80 percent. It doesn't really feel like 80 percent of the book in the film, though. If feels like the film is 100 percent of the film and the book is 100 percent of the book."

Director Matthew Vaughn took Gaiman's advice and sought out screenwriter Jane Goldman.

"Our goal in the adaptation was to keep the story as faithful to the book as possible, while, at the same time, making it more cinematic and using a bit of our own poetic license to ensure that audiences will have a fantastic ride," Vaughn said.

In other Stardust news:

* Michelle Pfeiffer, who plays Lamia, will be a guest on CBS' The Late, Late Show with Craig Ferguson on Wednesday.

* Claire Danes, who plays Yvaine, will be a guest on NBC's Today on Tuesday. She also will be a guest on NBC's Late Night with Conan O'Brien on Wednesday.


For covers and five- to six-page previews of upcoming titles, CLICK HERE.

Titles include Legend of Isis #2 and VSS: Nemesis Rising #4.


For previously published solicitations for October, click on the publishers' names below:

* Archie Comics.

* Aspen Comics.

* Avatar Press.

* BlueWater Productions.

* Dark Horse Comics.

* DC Comics.

* Devil's Due Publishing.

* Digital Webbing.

* Dynamite Entertainment.

* Fangoria Comics.

* Heroic Publishing.

* IDW Publishing.

* Image Comics.

* Markosia Publishing.

* Marvel Comics.

* Moonstone Books.

* Oni Press.

* Red 5 Comics.

* TwoMorrows Publishing. - More Product. More Exclusives.


* Top Shelf has announced that it has signed a deal to publish Pat Mills and Kevin O'Neill's Marshal Law, and will publish a Marshal Law Omnibus next year.


In case you missed The Continuum's coverage over the past month, here are some links. Click on the date to get the day's full report.

* Tuesday, July 31: Bluewater Productions for November, Heroic Publishing for November, Moonstone Books for November, First Looks, Aspen Comics roundup and Ed Burns at Virgin Comics.

* Monday, July 30: The Simpsons Movie, WildStorm, DC Big Guns, WildStorm and Fables.

* Sunday, July 29: The Incredible Hulk, Sam Raimi, Todd McFarlane, Spider-Man, MINX titles and Marvel's Ultimate Universe. Free Shipping from!

* Saturday, July 28: Battlestar Galactica, Flash Gordon, DC Nation, Vertigo, Mark Waid at Boom! Studios, Nightwolf television series and Image Comics.

* Friday, July 27: Marvel Comics First Looks, Mark Verheiden, Matt Wagner, Heroes, Devil's Due's Halloween and Mondo Marvel panel.

* Thursday, July 26: From Comic-Con International -- Iron Man movie, DC Comics Countdown, Darwyn Cooke, Legion of Super Heroes, Heroes, Incredible Hulk movie, Boom! Studio's The Godfather, Dark Horse roundup and SciFi/Virgin's The Stranded.

* Wednesday, July 25: Heroes Season 2, Virgin Comics/Jenna Jameson, Marvel First Looks and Archie First Looks.

* Tuesday, July 24: Superman Doomsday, Flash Gordon, Oni Press for October and Marvel First Looks.

* Monday, July 23: Dynamite Entertainment for October, Fangoria Comics for October, Dynamite First Looks and World of Warcraft from DC.

* Sunday, July 22: Avatar Press for October, Red 5 Comics for October, The Crow: Stairway to Heaven and Archie Comics First Looks.

* Saturday, July 21: Legion of Super Heroes and Devil's Due Publishing for October.

* Friday, July 20: Smallville's Supergirl, Marvel First Looks and Image First Looks.

* Thursday, July 19: Aspen Comics for October, Emmy Award nominations, Kids' WB! for August, Bluewater Productions' Jason and the Argonauts, Garth Ennis' Streets of Glory, Captain Action and Marvel First Looks.

* Wednesday, July 18: The Simpsons Movie, Flash Gordon, Bluewater Productions First Looks and Dynamite's Superpowers.

* Tuesday, July 17: Marvel Comics for October, Image Comics for October and Dynamite Entertainment First Looks.

* Monday, July 16: DC Comics for October, IDW Publishing for October, Archie Comics for October, Marvel First Looks and Watchmen movie.

* Sunday, July 15: The Spectacular Spider-Man and First Looks.

* Saturday, July 14: Image Comics' Lazarus and First Looks.

* Friday, July 13: Marvel First Looks and Image First Looks.

* Thursday, July 12: Activision's Spider-Man: Friend or Foe, Digital Webbing for October and First Looks.

* Wednesday, July 11: Smallville, Fantastic Four, First Looks, The Simpsons and Family Guy.

* Tuesday, July 10: Dark Horse Comics for October and First Looks.

* Monday, July 9: Painkiller Jane and Smallvlle.

* Sunday, July 8: Transformers and Who Wants To Be A Super Hero?.

* Saturday, July 7: TwoMorrows Publishing for October, First Looks and Transformers.

* Friday, July 6: Marvel First Looks, Image First Looks and DC First Looks.

* Thursday, July 5: Teen Choice nominations, Who Wants To Be A Superhero?, Dark Horse First Looks and Marvel's MAX.

* Wednesday, July 4: Markosia Publishing for October, Marvel First Looks, Archie First Looks and Painkiller Jane.

* Tuesday, July 3: First Looks, Teen Titans for July and Image Comics' Brawl.

* Monday, July 2: Transformers' Shia LeBeouf, First Looks, Second Printings and Moonstone Books for October.

E-mail the Continuum at

Return to the Continuum home page

Copyright © 2007, The Comics Continuum