Eric Millikin and Casey Sorrow's Fetus-X

Return to the Continuum home page

Clicking on images provides larger ones.


Animation news -- and much more!!!


Fox has released a promotional image -- featuring Metallica -- from the 18th season premiere episode of The Simpsons.

The episode, "The Mook, The Chef, The Wife and His Homer," is scheduled to air on Sept. 10 at 8 p.m. (ET/PT).

Here's how Fox describes the episode:

"After Lisa befriends Fat Tony's (Joe Mantegna, reprising his role as Springfield's infamous mob boss) son Michael, Fat Tony invites the Simpsons over for dinner as a sign of gratitude. Shockingly, Fat Tony is shot by a rival family moments after Michael admits he would rather be a chef than take over the family business. Fat Tony's main thugs, Dante and Dante Jr. (guest voices Joe Pantoliano and Michael Imperioli), want Michael to be the new kingpin, but when he declines, Homer steps up and leads the family on a major mob spree."

Click on the thumbnail for a larger image.


Following are the schedules for comics-based movies airing on HBO and Cinemax in October.


* Batman Begins: Sunday, Oct. 1 at 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. ; Friday, Oct. 6 at 12:30 p.m.; Thursday, Oct. 12 at 11 a.m.; Saturday, Oct. 21 at 2 p.m. and 10:45 p.m.; and Tuesday, Oct. 31 at 7:30 p.m.

* Constantine: Friday, Oct. 6 at 8 p.m.; Thursday, Oct. 19 at 3:35 a.m.; and Sunday, Oct. 29 at 2:15 a.m.

* Fantastic Four: Monday, Oct. 2 at 4:30 p.m.; Tuesday, Oct. 3 at 12:15 a.m.

* Son of the Mask: Sunday, Oct. 1 at 6:20 a.m.; Thursday, Oct. 5 at 1:45 p.m.; Tuesday, Oct. 24 at 9 a.m.; and Friday, Oct. 27 at 6:50 a.m.


* A History of Violence: Saturday, Oct. 14 at 10 p.m.; Sunday, Oct. 15 at 2:40 a.m.; Monday, Oct. 16 at 10 a.m.; Wednesday, Oct. 18 at 1 p.m. and 10 p.m.; Thursday, Oct. 26 at 11:35 a.m. and 10 p.m.

* Batman: Tuesday, Oct. 3 at 12:15 p.m.; Saturday, Oct. 14 at 9:45 a.m.; Friday, Oct. 27 at 3:50 p.m.

* Batman Beyond: Return of the Joker: Tuesday, Oct. 3 at 11 a.m.

* Superman II: Sunday, Oct. 15 at 6 a.m.

X-Men from Entertainment Earth!


For covers and five-page previews of Image Comics titles arriving in stores on August 16, CLICK HERE

Titles include Fell #6, Case Files: Sam & Twitch #25 and Battle Pope #10.

 ThinkGeek Gadgets


For covers and five-page previews of Devil's Due Publishing titles arriving in stores on August 16, CLICK HERE

Titles include Family Guy Vol. 2 and G.I. Joe: America's Elite #14.

eBay has the hard to find item


Buena Vista Home Enteratainment has announced an August 29 release for The Tick vs. Season One on DVD.

The two-disc set will collect 12 episodes from the animated series, which originally aired on Fox Kids and was based on Ben Edlund's comic-book character.

The set will feature The Tick and his sidekick Arthur; allies American Maid, Sewer Urchin, Die Fledermaus, Caped Chameleon and the Civic-Minded Five; and villains The Idea Man, The Breadmaster, El Seed and The Uncommon Cold.

Townsend Coleman voiced The Tick and Mickey Dolenz voiced Arthur.

A live-action version of The Tick, which aired on Fox, is already available on DVD.

Click on the thumbnail for a larger version of The Tick vs. Season One box art.

Click for the Warner Bros. Online


Marvel Comics topped the July sales charts, according to figures released by Diamond Comics Distributors on Friday.

Marvel had 44.3 percent of the market share to 35.9 percent for DC Comics. Marvel had 44.0 percent of the dollar share to 33.9 percent for DC.

Top 10 books for the month were Civil War #3, Justice League of America #0, New Avengers #22, 52 Week 11, Batman #655, Amazing Spider-Man #534, Civil War: Front Line #3, Wolverine: Origins #4, Civil War: X-Men #1 and Wolverine #44.

For the complete Diamond charts, CLICK HERE


* Sid Jacobson and Ernie Colon will appear on NBC's Today on Thursday to talk about their book The 9/11 Report: A Graphic Adaptation, which will be released in September.

* Diane Lane will promote Hollywoodland -- a movie centering on the death of Superman television star George Reeves -- on ABC's The View on Monday, Sept. 4.


In case you missed The Continuum's recent coverage, here are some links. Click on the date to get the day's full report.

* Sunday, August 6: Wizard World Chicago -- Lynda Carter statue and WildStorm and Vertigo panels.

* Saturday, August 5: Hellboy 2: The Golden Army, and from Wizard World Chicago: DC Universe, Civil War and Ultimate panels.

* Friday, August 4: Top Cow, DC Nation and Mondo Marvel panels at Wizard World Chicago, X-Men: The Last Stand DVDs, Hellboy sequel and Archie Comics First Looks.

* Thursday, August 3: Spider-Man 3's Thomas Haden Church, Virgin Comics for October, Arcana Studio's OutlawScorn 3030 A.D. and Blade: The Series.

* Wednesday, August 2: DC Comics First Looks, Image Comics First Looks and Marvel Comics First Looks.

* Tuesday, August 1: Doctor Strange animated movie, Spider-Man 3, Blade: The Series, Ultimate Spider-Man and Phoenix Warsong variants, Boom! Studios for October and Bongo Comics for October.

* Monday, July 31: Warner Bros. announces The Dark Knight movie, Iron Man director Jon Favreau, Iron Man animated movie, Claypool Comics ceases print operations, The Batman, Icon's Criminal and Top Cow's Madame Mirage.

* Sunday, July 30: David Lloyd's Kickback, Superman Returns and First Looks.

* Saturday, July 29: Heroes, Spider-Man 3, Teen Titans DVD, Transformers DVD and Archie Comics First Looks.

* Friday, July 28: Blade: The Series, Anita Blake, First Looks, Hellboy animated and Krypto the Superdog.

* Thursday, July 27: Legion of Super Heroes animated, The Batman, The Simpsons, Teen Titans, Marvel Comics First Looks, Aspen's Soulfire: Chaos Reign and TMNT.

* Wednesday, July 26: Marvel Comics First Looks, DC Comics First Looks, Image Comics First Looks, Blade: The Series, Aquaman pilot, Smallville, Spider-Man 3 and Aspen Comics convention specials.

* Tuesday, July 25: Image Comics for October, IDW Publishing for October, Marvel Comics First Looks, Blade: The Series' Jon Kroll, Fantastic Four animation and Aquaman pilot.

* Monday, July 24: From Comic-Con International -- Ghost Rider movie, Marvel Studios panel, Mondo Marvel panel, DC Universe panel and Blade: The Series.

* Sunday, July 23: From Comic-Con International -- Spider-Man 3, Iron Man movie, Image Comics panel, Todd McFarlane panel and The Batman.

* Saturday, July 22: From Comic-Con International -- Superman Returns sequel, Superman II DVD, Hellboy sequel, Spider-Man 3, Bruce Timm, Vertigo panel, C.B. Cebulski's Image books, IDW panel, WildStorm panel and Marvel Legends.

* Friday, July 21: From Comic-Con International -- Spider-Man 3, Ultimate Avengers 2, Teen Titans/Legion of Super Heroes, Marvel's Civil War, Aspen Comics and Fantastic Four sequel...

* Thursday, July 20: From Comic-Con International -- IDW's Transfromers, DC Nation panel, Legion of Super Heroes' Matt Wayne, Ghost Rider movie toys, Incredible Hulk director, Fantastic Four sequel, Dark Horse announements, Top Cow news and Avatar Press news.

* Wednesday, July 19: Hellboy animated, Frank Miller to direct The Spirit, Dark Horse news, Marvel First Looks, DC First Looks, IDW's Spike: Asylum, Fox Atomic comics and Devil's Due Publishing for October.

* Tuesday, July 18: Marvel Comics for October, Green Arrow on Smallville, Oni's My Name is Earl, Marvel First Looks, Boom Studios' Warhammer 40,000, Ant's new writer and Civil War second printings.

* Monday, July 17: DC Comics for October, 52 origin artists, DC promotes Karen Berger and Archie Comics for October.

* Sunday, July 16:Superman Returns, First Looks and Archaia Studio's new titles.

* Saturday, July 15: Blade: The Series, Legion of Super Heroes animated, Stan Lee's Lightspeed and Superman Returns.

* Friday, July 14: The Amazing Screw-On Head, Ultimate Spider-Man Annual, Superman Returns and Penny-Farthing Press projects.

* Thursday, July 13: Sci Fi's Painkiller Jane, Wolverine: Origins press conference, X-Men titles, First Looks, Batman Beyond and Justice League Unlimited DVDs and Virgin Comics teams with John Woo and Garth Ennis.

* Wednesday, July 12: Marvel First Looks, DC First Looks, Image First Looks, Spider-Girl returns, Aspen's Civil War: X-Men cover and Moonstone Books for November.

* Tuesday, July 11: Smallville's Jimmy Olsen, Marvel First Looks, Sabrina trade paperback and Star Wars Lithographs.

E-mail the Continuum at

Return to the Continuum home page

Copyright © 2006, The Comics Continuum